Tags

, , , , , ,

by phil gennuso

This is just a trip into the past, using virtual reality, digital style. I created a version of what a vintage hollywood poster from the 1930s might look like, based on photographs and artwork from the era. Then I “touched up” that poster, to bring it closer to what it might have looked like originally, before time took its toll. A conversation across time.

I am not sure how many women actually looked the way some of the screen stars were dressed. But it certainly gave the people of that era a chance to get away from the grim realities of the depression, and spend a day, many times all day, in a fantasy world where everything seemed to turn out ok. I know my parents never forgot those movies and stars, many years later, and they always brought smiles to their faces.

And that is quite an accomplishment, in any art form.

